Silver

My breath left me when I cried,

In the blur I struggled to find solace,

But I was naive and did not realize

I would never get over my dull days.

Weak in my knees, I crawled to my doom,

Little did they know I was alone

with my terrifying thoughts and deep shadows

and white scars not to be shown.

Tiny pills I overdosed on

and a mind allowed to roam free,

Measured my breaths, made me sleep

and escape from what I was supposed to be.

I couldn’t be caught, couldn’t be stopped,

Couldn’t be kept in any silver cage,

The thoughts I’d kept hidden for so long

spilled like ink across the page.

Try if you want, there’s no return,

They watched me break and crumble,

Apologies will never be enough,

You’ve put me through so much trouble.

And my demons now retreat to their holes,

It seemed impossible coming down from the high,

With a numb heart and cold hands

I give you my final goodbye.

9 thoughts on “Silver

Add yours

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑