Crash

Between erratic heartbeats and smiling faces

And hallways lined with perfectly sculpted humans

I found myself drowning in the chaos

My mind a swirling tornado of emotions

 

A little unsteady on those pricey heels

I purchased from a store downtown

They made me the queen of the lost

With fierce flames for a crown

 

But oh, the twisted fate of mine

Ensured they knew right away

The places I go to when it grows dark

The places dark minds go to play

 

Too young I was for the great big world

And for the creatures in the night

Locked away in the prison I called home

I grew fearful of the morning light

 

Another beautiful dusk followed

This one different from the rest

I made my escape out into the open

Leaving the comforts of my nest

 

But oh, the twisted fate of mine

Ensured my freedom was not to last

The frenzied vehicles played their games

And I was hit by a biking enthusiast

 

The dark that followed felt like a lie

It laughed at the sight of a broken me

An entire existence crumbled and disappeared

All that was left was a desperate plea

 

Color flooded my eyes as they opened

I couldn’t recognize the tear stained faces

My memories had abandoned my mind

There was nothing left but painful traces

 

As they told me of the life I’d lived

And the way I’d soon get old

My pretty heels smirked from inside the closet

‘Everything that glitters is not gold.’

 

10 thoughts on “Crash

Add yours

  1. Naynika. You have some crazy ass talent because all that I’ve read has my heart.
    The character you create in your art is described so precisely, it’s almost like the entire story is unfolding itself infornt of my own eyes.
    I’m a huge fan of your work, miss.

    Like

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑